Tanzania Standard Gauge Railway

Tanzania Standard Gauge Railway SGR Dar Es Salaam

The government of Tanzania is currently expanding the country’s rail network with the construction of a Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) to replace the old, inefficient meter-gauge railway system.

The Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) has the ability to carry heavy loads by high speed as opposed to the current Meter gauge Railway (MGR).

Tanzania’s SGR uses electric locomotives and has the capacity to transport passengers and cargo shipments at 160 kilometers per hour.

The SGR will link Tanzania, from the port of Dar es Salaam to the neighboring countries of Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The SGR consists of a network of 1,219 km developed in five phases:

  • Phase 1: Dar es Salaam – Morogoro (Km 300)
  • Phase 2: Morogoro- Makutupora (Km 422)
  • Phase 3: Makutupora –Tabora (Km 294)
  • Phase 4: Tabora – Isaka (Km 130)
  • Phase 5: Isaka – Mwanza (Km 249)

Phase 1: Dar es salaam – Morogoro (300 km). Construction was inaugurated by the late Tanzania President John Pombe Magufuli on 12th April 2017. Construction is underway by YAPI MERKEZI contractor from Turkey in partnership with MOTA ENGIL AFRICA from Portugal.

Phase 2: Morogoro – Makutupora (Km 442). The construction of the project was launched by the late Tanzania President John Pombe Magufuli on 14th March 2018. The initial stages of construction have started under by YAPI MERKAZI.

Phase 3: Makutupora –Tabora (Km 294+ km 78 of intersections). The agreement for the construction of the project with YAPI MERKAZI was signed by the Tanzania Railways Corporation (TRC) on behalf of the Government on 28th December 2021.

Phases 4, and 5: These phases, are in various stages of procurement.

Tanzania Tables Key Projects for 2022 and 2023

Tanzania’s Minister of Finance and Planning Mwigulu Nchemba has recently presented to Parliament his reccomendations for the preparation of the national budget for 2022/23, suggesting…